Last night I spent time with some friends of mine. One of these friends, Alex, is eight years old. I always learn something when I spend time with Alex and her mom, Joyce. Last night, we made marbelized paper using the shaving cream method. It is amazing the beautiful mixes of color and design you can get, just by swirling dye through a suspension media. It was also fun to see how wonderful Alex’s designs were. After we had finished, we looked at the swirls and found butterflies, flowers, and other images in the designs.

I plan to use this method to create some fabric for wall hangings. I think it will provide some great background fabrics. I only hope that I can remain as confident and unfettered by expectations as is Alex, so my designs can have the same energy and life.

Places to find instructions on Shaving Cream Marblelizing

