Free-motion machine quilting will be the death of me!

OK. I’m being melodramatic. But I need to be able to do this. If I want to get any speed in my quilting, I must learn to machine quilt, and I need to be able to do it well. I’ve got a new Bernina with BSR (Bernina Stitch Regulator), so in theory, I should be able to do this — and do it well. But so far my stitches look like something a two-year-old would create. Oh, who am I kidding? A two-old would do better.

Part of the problem is my aversion to the machine. I love the speed, but the accuracy of my stitch lines are never as good when I machine piece as when I hand piece. It’s even worse when I try to quilt by machine. I’m so torn between a desire to produce and a my own limitations.

I know. I know. Practice. Practice Practice. I’ve purchased Charlene C. Frable’s book Quilt as Desired: Your Guide to Straight-Line and Free-Motion Quilting. It’s a good book. But as I scan it, I see only FAILURE. I want so much to get my vision into the fabric. But my impatience and my self-doubt are really sabotaging my abilty to PRODUCE.

This is what I want, why does mine look jagged, rough and … worthless!?!

I know. Practice.

