Don’t look (the needle) in the eye

Continuing to work on the free-motion quilting. Still not delighted by my efforts, but I have learned two valuable lessons:

1. I can follow a shape or design a heck of a lot better than I can just “meander.”

2. I need not to look at the needle as I quilt. I need to look ahead (or behind) at the place in which my needle will go. 

The second is harder to do than to say. The needle is hypnotic. But if I look at the needle, I don’t know where I’m going–only where I am and have been.

I suppose I spend much of my time looking back, wondering, worrying about things that have already happened. Perhaps I need to live my life more like I need to quilt — looking forward, seeing what will be in order to get there.

One response to “Don’t look (the needle) in the eye”

  1. The musical analogy that comes immediately to mind is Neil Young, “The Needle and the Damage Done.” Of course that is a different sort of needle, but one whose hypnotic, addictive effect, sadly enough, is well known.

Leave a comment