The Mixed Media Monday Challenge sounded easy …

At first.

Try something different. I’m enough of a newbie, that this sounded pretty simple. But there were so many options that I had a great deal of difficulty deciding what to do.

Fortunately, I had just finished reading Jamie Fingal’s Embellished Mini-Quilts. One of the artists mentioned a challenge she had tried in which the instructor asked them to pick a book, go to a particular page and read the first sentence of the third paragaph (or something along those lines) and use that as a basis for creating a design. I figured I’d give it a go, and selected the book The Complete Monty Python’s Flying Circus: All the Words; went to page 66, moved to the fourth paragraph, and found the line: “I think you’re an encyclopaedia salesman.” From episode 5, Burglar/Encyclopaedia Salesman.

I’m not sure why I chose a compilation of Monty Python television scripts for this challenge. I guess because trying something new made me hear the phrase “and now for something completely different.”

Anyway, here it is: Encyclopaedia Sketch:

