Tree in seasons. Check out the summer leaves.

Tree in seasons. Check out the summer leaves.

My silk painting class progresses, and it is time to put my new-found skills to the test. I have a 15″x60″ scarf to create. I have been looking at all the designs my classmates have come up with. They are amazing. Such variety. All I could think of with the proportions of 15 to 60, 1 to 4, is four blocks. Four blocks. Four seasons. And so I begin my work. A lone tree in the different seasons. My classmates laughed at my obsessive work on on the leaves (“you mean you make each one individually?”) But is so soothing to twist the brush into a comma and watch the paint creep into a leaf shape. And adding different shades of green is so much fun.

Of course, that means I haven’t gotten as far as the fall tree, but I wanted you to see the progress. The painting is soothing and fun, and I am pleased with the results. Hope you like it, too.

