Back in May, I found Mixed Media Monday, an art challenge that has helped me experiment, learn and create more art than I thought I could. My very first challenge was “pens and pencils,” and for it, I created St. Flannery.

St. Flannery in pens and pencils

St. Flannery in pens and pencils

I swore at that time that I would turn her into a quilt. I tried to use appliqué and gold lamé, but she just looked … wrong. So I let her sit, half-finished, for four months, shaming me because I could make her be what she deserved to be — if I only tried hard enough.

Finally, I accepted that Flannery didn’t work in my first attempt. I painted her face instead of appliquéing her. I use gold thread instead of using the lamé. Ultimately as I worked on her, the pens and pencils were replaced by faux typewriter keys.

Flannery in Fabric

Flannery in Fabric

She’s finally finished, and I am very pleased with Flannery. And ultimately, I have Mixed Media Monday to thank for her.

So now, may I introduce you to Ste. Flannery.

