I had the opportunity to host Mixed Media Monday’s challenge this week. I chose as the challenge theme “heroes.” There are many people who are my heroes. There are many types of heroes. I thought I would focus on an artist for this piece. I decided to honor Georgia O’Keeffe.

O’Keeffe’s flowers are sensuous and rich. Her willingness to take the essense of the flower to an abstract level is delightful. O’Keeffe suffered many bouts of self-doubt and fear, but she continued to work and grow as an artist. Even as her vision failed her in her 80’s, O’Keeffe continued to create art.

I try to remember this quote of O’Keeffe’s when I try something new: “I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life – and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.” I hope to always remember not to let my doubt and fears keep me from trying new things.

Georgia on My Mind

Georgia on My Mind

