Mixed Media Monday challenged us to create a piece for the theme, “The Written Word.” I love to include words in my collages and fabric art, so this one was fun for me.

In recent years/months the textile industry has started producing more and more fabrics with text. It started out with Asian-inspired fabric with characters, to botanical designs that included descriptive text, to alphabets and texts covering the entire yardage. I took advantage of one of these fabrics in my challenge piece. The text fabric was cut into leaf shapes and scattered over a wonderful piece of material I bought nearly 15 years ago for a landscape I planned but never implemented. So now the words are scattered on the breeze.

Thoughts like leaves scatter in the breeze.

Thoughts like leaves scatter in the breeze.

