A good friend of mine has taken an interest in my work. She asked me to create a silk wall hanging, 4 foot wide, 3 foot  long. It was both a terrifying and an exhilerating experience to create to spec and to honestly be creating something for sale.

I call the piece Kuiper Belt, because the basic design came to me as I read Neil deGrasse Tyson‘s Pluto Files. The piece is painted in a light ecru, the lines and circles are edged with resist, and the design was painted with Jacquard Dye Na Flo. Once the piece was finished, heat-set and the resist rinsed out, The entire piece was covered in soy wax (crackle! crackle!) and the piece was covered in burnt umber. (This was the scary part–how well did the wax resist?)

Once the paint dried, and the wax was removed via iron, this is the result:

First Commission

First Commission

