The final project in my silk painting class was to create an item of clothing from scratch, painting the fabric before the pattern was pieced. Because I am cautious by nature and have limited skills in making clothes, I chose to go with a muslin fabric rather than silk. And, instead of the jacket suggested, I thought a simple vest would be a good first try.

The fabric was dyed golden yellow (procion dyes, low immersion). The fabric to be used for the front panels were then painted with Dye-na-flow thickened with no-flow. Once those designs hade been set, I added soy wax as a resist over parts of the fabric and then did a second procion dye low-immersion process, this time with chocolate brown. The chocolate brown was close to dark chocolate (aka black), and turned the yellow into this brownish olive. Not what I had expected, but I think it’s very attractive.

Front panels include free-hand painting and stencils.

Front panels include free-hand painting and stencils.

Back is limited to dye and soy wax resist

Back is limited to dye and soy wax resist

