Mixed Media Monday‘s first July challenge is “Beads.” As luck would have it, I have been working on a wall hanging that just happened to include some beads.

A new facebook friend of mine, Jo Ann, took the time to meet me in real at my Mellwood Arts Center.  Jo Ann not only took the time to meet me, she came with gifts of fabric (sweet!). One of these fabric pieces was a beautiful airbrushed hummingbird on black fabric.

I took this lovely piece of fabric as my focal point, and added some soft cream fabric with text as a first border. I then added some of my hand-dyed fabric as a second border. I played on the iridescent colors of the hummingbird, painting a copper line and adding some floral and bird stamps.

Adding some machine quilting really made the fabric pop. Then, the bird needed a bright red flower, some copper-colored buttons balance the two moon charms at the top.

Finally, the bottom of the piece was trimmed with some really lovely red bead trim I found at the Dollar Store. I’m very pleased with the piece. Thank you, Jo Ann, for the lovely gift and inspiration. (Please click on the thumbnails to see larger photos.)

