As I mentioned in my last post, I am working through the book Mixed Mania, trying the techniques the authors, Debbi Crane and Cheryl Prather, describe. In one lesson, Debbi Crane urges mixed media and collage artists to create their own art papers rather than rely on commercial ones. She recommends using a mix of pens, watercolors and water color crayons to get started. My first attempt was a bit time-consuming. Had I used some stamps or textures rather than simply doodling, I could have finished it in  no time. Once I scanned in the doodle, I enhanced it in Photoshop, and liked the image even more. Now I have two different papers, all my own to print and use in my art.

Doodle with watercolor, manipulated in Photoshop

Doodle with watercolor, manipulated in Photoshop

Doodle and watercolor

Doodle and watercolor

