Following a suggestion in Mixed Mania. I am trying (try being the operative word here) to make art every day. To do this, I’ve been working on mini collages (ranging between 1.5×1.5 inches and 2×2 inches). Working in this manner, I’m learning a few interesting things:

I don’t like busy. One key image on a nice background with a little flourish is enough. If I get busy, I can’t locate my anchor image and the piece becomes diffuse. Learning how much I like the limits in a small venue has made me rethink some of my bigger collages and silk paintings, which are sometimes busy. A limited palette and a limited number of design elements works for me. Below are five 2×2 collages I worked on and liked because they are pretty simple. I am also including a picture of a failed 8×8 inch collage that is too busy and diffuse. I may work on it some more to make the current piece into a background for one dominant image and see if I like it better.

Five little collages

Five little collages

Busy, busy, busy

Busy, busy, busy

