Mixed Media Monday’s latest challenge was “Stitches.” This should be easy enough. I DO sew, after all. But what to sew, what to use?

I have a lot of beautiful Asian cloth. Most too lovely for me to cut (or so I feel). But the poor fabric just pines away on my shelves, waiting to be used–some how, some way, some day. I have made a promise to myself and to this fabric that it will not sit idle on my shelves until it dry rots. It will BECOME. As a part of this promise, I cut into a wonderful idigo and white fabric that I have owned for over 10 years. Then, I bit the bullet, as it were, and cut apart an amazing red fabric with flowers and water running through it. These became my base, which I embelleshed with free motion stitching. 

I decided I needed some fish to swim in my river, so I created a transfer of a koi that I produced in Photoshop by enhancing a photo. I used TAP paper to transfer. TAP is a new transfer product, sort of like T-shirt transfers on steroids. (It can be used to transfer images to wood, canvas, paper, cloth, etc., and it has a really, really soft hand, so when used on fabric, it really seems to become a part of the fabric. I hate to use plain fabric for tansfers, and one of my favorite transfer bases of the moment are fabrics with text on it. I like the way the text can be seen underneath and through the fish.

These koi patches were blanket-stitched to the base. White buttons were added to balance the images, and the end result is one that pleases me.

Asian stitches

Asian stitches

 

Detail: Koi transfer

Detail: Koi transfer

