This week’s Mixed Media Monday challenge is one that I hosted.  I invited the group to create art using the theme “time of day.” I suggested that the theme could be illustrated through color, imagery or some combination. I hope my colleagues enjoyed the challenge.

The theme illustrates what a series of fiber art pieces I had just created meant to me. Matins uses ideas set forth by Sharon McCartney (who finally has a website–hooray!) in the book Mixed Media Collage. It is my attempt to illustrate the feelings I have at morning, noon, evening, and night.

Matins uses natural images and colors to depict different times of day: The sparrow’s song awakens us in the morning; the drone of the dragonfly can be heard in the heat of a summer noon; the raven welcomes the evening, and the luna moth dances in the night.

Matins

Matins

