This week’s Mixed Media Monday challenge is “round.” It was an interesting challenge and led me to create two different pieces: one light and one dark.

My light piece uses cogs from Maya Road designs to create three flowers. Each flower acts as a round frame for the photo of my sister’s family. The faces were one of the many experiments in image transfer that I have been trying. This used a gel medium to attach a photo to a piece of cloth (printed side down). Once the medium is dry, I used water to rub the paper away from the ink, leaving me with the image.

A Floral Family

A Floral Family

My dark piece represents the ways in which my thoughts spin around, moving from love to hate, from despair to hope. Each small collage represents different feelings that spiral from a center that asks “What happened?”

My thoughts spin round and round.

My thoughts spin round and round.

