Mixed Media Monday‘s latest challenge is “Metal/Metallics.” For the challenge, I took bits and pieces of blue fabric from another project and fused them onto black felt. Then I decided add some gold tulle for bling. I free-montion stitched the block and took a look at it: Nice, but nothing to write home about.

I decided to add some scraps of gold metallic floss. To do this, I lay down some misty fuse,Β  strips of thread and more tulle. I fused this down and added even more machine quilting. Another look: That’s what I want!

I cut the block into a variety of shaps and sizes. This will be used as embellishments on other quilts and for pins. Those that are to be pins are finished up with stitching around the edges, the addition of a pinback, and a little bit mre bling:

Dragonfly Pin (1.5x1.5 inches)

Dragonfly Pin (1.5x1.5 inches)

Under lock and key (1.5 x 1.5 inches)

Under lock and key (1.5 x 1.5 inches)

