The Mixed Media Monday challenge for this week was provided by Yvonne, who asked that we select a piece of music that has meaning to us and create a piece around that. There are a great many songs that mean something to me. I grew up in the 60s and 70s, the era of the Beatles, Led Zeppelin, the Rolling Stones. Recently, I went out of town to meet my new second cousin, Drew. I have always been very close to my cousins, and his mother, Sarah, was one of my first babysitting charges years ago. As I held Drew, Sarah and I talked about caring for babies and how, at least in our family, we seem to always sing to the little ones. I remembered how I used to hold her when she was fussy, and sway back and forth as I sang Beetle songs. My favorite song to sing to a baby or child has always been “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.” Of course, I always replaced “Lucy” with the name of the baby I held: Sarah, Erin, Leah, Damon, Shelby. (This always worked well, since our family leans toward two-syllable names. Drew will probably be modified to Drew-bug or Drewbie for my Beetles rendition.)

Because of this nostalgic talk with my cousin, and in honor of the next child I will serenade, I chose to base my art on “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.” The wall hanging includes an image transfer of a figure from a classic poster imprinted over a Nancy Crow fabric I purchased in the 1990s. I added felted flowers of yellow and green (OK, OK. They aren’t cellophane, but the felting just seemed right). The flowers and image are on a machine-quilted muslin that I hand-dyed this year.

Thank you for the challenge, Yvonne. It brought to me fond memories.

In the sky with diamonds

In the sky with diamonds

